The history of Confiserie Brändli

The history of Confiserie Brändli is a traditional family story and goes way back in time. It all began over 130 years ago with Arnold and Anna Brändli and a bakery in Lenzburg. The Brändli family is dedicated to its tradition and continues to expand the business.

  • 2024

    The Brändli Bombe is celebrating its 100th anniversary. Our most legendary creation was created in 1924 on the occasion of the Federal Shooting Festival in Aarau and has been winning the hearts of gourmets around the world ever since.

  • 2020

    A lot has happened since the rebranding. Many new partnerships with selected resellers have been established since then, including with KaDeWe in Berlin (2016), Globus (2016), Loeb (2018) and Jelmoli (2019).


    Special mention should be made of the Schreiber bookshop in Olten, which has continued to serve our valued Olten customers with Brändli delicacies since the closure of our branch in July 2020.

  • 2015

    Launch of a new image with a new logo and a new website, including a web shop.

    The new logo is a redesign of the old one from the 1930s and 1940s, based on the handwriting of Miggi, the grand or great-grand aunt of the current managing directors. This eflects the combination of tradition and modernity, as well as the loving craftsmanship that has always gone into our products.

  • 2019

  • 2020

  • 2014

    Dominik, Alexandra and Philippe Brändli, the 5th generation of the Brändli family, join the board of administration and management. Thus the great, great grandchildren of founders Arnold and Anna Brändli now have the reponsibility for the Swiss family business, together with Mark Brändli. The daily business will continue to be conducted by Rita and Mark Brändli.


    Andreas Gehring and Katharina Hagenauer have resigned after 20 years on the board, Nik Brändli after 11 years.

    Cooperation with the independent company Brändli Basel, founded by Ernst Brändli’s brother Hans and his wife in 1935, has been re-established. We supply each other with our core products.

    The current management team. From left to right: Mark, Alexandra, Rita, Philippe and Dominik Brändli.

  • 2013

    Opening of an outside café in Olten.

  • 2005

    Opening of the new, larger sales outlet with Tea Room in the Kirchgasse, Olten

  • 2004

    Expansion of production premises. Move from Bahnhofstrasse to Mühlemattstrasse in Aarau.

  • 2003

    Death of Esther Gehring-Brändli. Transfer of the business to the 4th generation. Nik and Mark Brändli, great grandchildren of founders Arnold and Anna, and their wives José and Rita, run the business.

  • 1995

    Andreas Gehring and Peter Isler, both great grandchildren of the founders, together with Katharina Hagenauer and Max Bucher form the new board of administration. Mario Monaco takes over the management.

  • 1978

    The business premises in the Bahnhofstrasse Aarau are renovated.

    H M Queen Mother talking to the papal nuncio Dr. Heim. The Queen Mum was a loyal customer of our house for many years. As can be seen our Brändli Bombs were served generously for the royal afternoon tea.

  • 1973

    Death of Martha Brändli. The business is taken over by the 3rd generation. Another woman plays a formative role over 3 decades: Esther Gehring-Brändli. She too was widowed early and a single parent of 3 boys while managing the business.

    Esther Gehring-Brändli

  • 1961

    Opening of the 2nd branch in the Vorderen Vorstadt in Aarau.

    Home delivery in 1960

  • 1958

    Peter Brändli, the grandfather of the 5th generation, runs the business together with his mother Martha and is the driving force behind many innovations and expansion.

    Opening of the first branch in Olten on Baslerstrasse.

    Peter Brändli

  • 1955

    Launching of Petits Feux, a delicately melting chocolate composition.

  • 1942

    The origin of our Tea Room in Aarau. Martha Brändli turns the coffee lounge on the first floor into a modern British-style Tea Room.

    Today's headquarters around 1940

  • 1939

    Death of Ernst Brändli at the early age of 42. His wife Martha manages the company with around 25 employees, vigilantly and with innovative energy for the next 3 decades and brings up 3 children at the same time.

    Production personnel and sales assistant around 1930

  • 1924

    The invention of the Brändli Bombe: a chocolate speciality with marzipan and almond splinters. The Brändli Bombe becomes a symbol of relish and quality from the House of Brändli which becomes renowned far outside the region.

    The legendary Brändli Bombe

    Ernst and Martha Brändli-Margot

  • 1922

    Ernst and his wife Martha acquire the premises of today’s headquarters in the Bahnhofstrasse, Aarau, to open a confectionary and cake shop with coffee lounge.

    Today’s headquarters around 1920

    Sales personnel around 1920

  • 1918

    The eldest son Ernst takes over the firm. More emphasis is placed on producing confectionary and chocolate products.

  • 1904

    Move to the upcoming Gönhard quarter of Aarau. Arnold and Anna place the foundation stone for their future success with their modern bakery and win major customers with the cantonal hospital and the army barracks in Aarau.

  • 1902

    Relocation of the business to Aarau. The Brändli family take over an existing bakery in the Oberen Vorstadt.

  • 1893

    Our family tradition begins: Arnold und Anna Brändli, the great and great, great grandparents of today’s management board, open a bakery with inn in Lenzburg.

    The founders Arnold and Anna Brändli-Ehrismann

Die Geschichte der Confiserie Brändli

Die Geschichte der Confiserie Brändli ist eine Familiengeschichte und reicht weit in der Zeit zurück. Es beginnt alles vor über 130 Jahren mit Arnold und Anna Brändli und einer Bäckerei in Lenzburg. Die Familie Brändli pflegt ihre Tradition hingebungsvoll und baut das Geschäft vorzu weiter aus.

  • 2024

    Die Brändli Bombe feiert ihr 100-jähriges Jubiläum. Unsere legendärste Kreation wurde 1924 anlässlich des eidgenössischen Schützenfestes in Aarau erfunden und erobert seither die Herzen von Gourmets auf der ganzen Welt.

  • 2020

    Seit dem Rebranding ist viel geschehen. So sind seither unter anderem vielen neue Wiederverkaufspartnerschaften entstanden, u.a. mit KaDeWe in Berlin (2016), Globus (2016), Loeb (2018) der Jelmoli (2019).

    Speziell erwähnenswert ist die Buchhandlung Schreiber in Olten, die seit der Schliessung unserer Filiale im Juli 2020 unsere geschätzte Oltner Kundschaft weiterhin mit Brändli Köstlichkeiten bedient.

  • 2015

    Lancierung eines neuen Erscheinungsbildes mit einem neuen Logo und einer neuen Website, inkl. Webshop. Das neue Logo ist ein Re-Design des alten aus den 30er- und 40er-Jahren, basierend auf der Handschrift von Miggi, Gross- bzw. Urgrosstante der heutigen Geschäftsführer. Darin liegt die Verbindung von Tradition und Moderne, aber auch die liebevolle Handarbeit, die seit jeher in unseren Produkten steckt.

  • 2019

  • 2020

  • 2014

    Mit Dominik, Alexandra und Philippe Brändli nimmt die 5. Generation der Familie Brändli Einsitz im Verwaltungsrat und der Geschäftsleitung. Somit tragen bereits die Ururenkel der Firmengründer Arnold und Anna Brändli zusammen mit Mark und Rita Brändli die Verantwortung für das Schweizer Familienunternehmen.
    Andreas Gehring und Katharina Hagenauer treten nach 20 Jahren, Nik. Brändli nach 11 Jahren aus dem Verwaltungsrat zurück.
    Die Kooperation mit der seit jeher unabhängigen Firma Brändli Basel, die von Ernst Brändlis Bruder Hans und dessen Ehefrau 1935 gegründet wurde, wird wieder aufgenommen. Wir offerieren gegenseitig unsere Hauptspezialitäten.

    Die heutige Geschäftsleitung. Von links nach rechts: Mark, Alexandra, Rita, Philippe und Dominik Brändli.

  • 2013

    Eröffnung eines Aussencafés in Olten.

  • 2005

    Eröffnung der neuen, grösseren Verkaufsstelle mit Tea Room an der Kirchgasse in Olten.

  • 2004

    Expansion der Produktionsräumlichkeiten. Umzug von der Aarauer Bahnhofstrasse an die Mühlemattstrasse in Aarau.

  • 2003

    Tod von Esther Gehring-Brändli. Übergabe des Geschäfts an die 4. Generation. Nik. und Mark Brändli, Urenkel der einstigen Firmengründer Arnold und Anna, und deren Ehefrauen José und Rita führen das Geschäft weiter.

  • 1995

    Neubestellung des Verwaltungsrates durch Andreas Gehring und Peter Isler, beides Urenkel des Firmengründers, sowie Katharina Hagenauer und Max Bucher. Die operative Leitung übernimmt Mario Monaco.

  • 1978

    Renovation des Geschäfts an der Aarauer Bahnhofstrasse.

    Der Schweizer Erzbischof Dr. Bruno Bernhard Heim war von 1973 bis 1985 Nuntius, sprich päpstlicher Vertreter, in Großbritannien. In dieser Funktion baute er enge Kontakte zum britischen Königshaus auf. Der Nuntius brachte Her Majesty Queen Mum zu seinem Antrittsbesuch als Geschenk Brändli Bomben mit. Sie mochte sie so sehr, dass sie diese in Folge über mehrere Jahre hinweg bestellte und, wie auf dem Bild ersichtlich, ihren Gäasten wurden unsere Brändli Bomben üppig zum königlichen Tee serviert.

  • 1973

    Tod von Martha Brändli. Der Betrieb geht an die 3. Generation über. Wieder spielt eine Frau über Jahrzehnte hinweg eine prägende Rolle: Esther Gehring-Brändli. Auch sie früh verwitwet und alleinerziehende Mutter von drei Buben, leitet das Geschäft während der kommenden drei Jahrzehnte.

    Esther Gehring-Brändli

  • 1961

    Eröffnung der zweiten Filiale an der Vorderen Vorstadt in Aarau.

    Hauslieferungen im Winter 1960.

  • 1958

    Peter Brändli, der Grossvater der 5. Generation, führt zusammen mit seiner Mutter Martha das Geschäft und ist die treibende Kraft hinter vielen Neuerungen und der Expansion. Eröffnung der ersten Filiale in Olten an der Baslerstrasse.

    Peter Brändli

  • 1955

    Lancierung der Petits Feux, einer zartschmelzende Schokoladekomposition.

  • 1942

    Entstehung unseres Tea Room in Aarau. Martha Brändli macht aus der Kaffeestube im ersten Stock ein modernes Tea Room nach englischem Vorbild.

    Heutiger Hauptsitz um 1940.

  • 1939

    Tod von Ernst Brändli im frühen Alter von 42 Jahren. Seine Gattin Martha führt das Geschäft mit rund 25 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern mit Umsicht und Innovationsgeist durch die kommenden drei Jahrzehnte und sorgt daneben für ihre drei Kinder.

    Produktionspersonal und Verkäuferin um 1930.

  • 1924

    Erfindung der Brändli Bombe: eine Schokoladespezialität aus Marzipan und Mandelsplittern. Die Brändli Bombe wird zum Sinnbild für Genuss und Qualität aus dem Hause Brändli und macht das Geschäft weit über die Region hinaus bekannt.

    Die legendäre Brändli Bombe

    Ernst und Martha Brändli-Margot

  • 1922

    Ernst und seine Frau Martha erwerben die Liegenschaft am heutigen Hauptsitz an der Bahnhofstrasse in Aarau, um eine Konditorei-Confiserie mit Kaffeestube zu eröffnen.

    Heutiger Hauptsitz um 1920

    Verkäuferin um 1920

  • 1918

    Übernahme des Geschäfts durch den ältesten Sohn Ernst. Die Geschäftstätigkeit verlagert sich zunehmend auf Konditorei- und Schokoladeprodukte.

  • 1904

    Umzug ins aufstrebende Aarauer Gönhard-Quartier. Arnold und Anna legen mit einem modernen Bäckereigebäude den Grundstein für ihren späteren Erfolg und gewinnen Grosskunden wie das Kantonsspital Aarau und die Kaserne in Aarau.

  • 1902

    Verlagerung der Geschäftstätigkeit nach Aarau. Die Familie Brändli übernimmt eine bestehende Bäckerei an der Oberen Vorstadt.

  • 1893

    Unsere Familientradition nimmt ihren Anfang: Arnold und Anna Brändli, die Ur- und Ururgrosseltern der heutigen Geschäftsleitung, eröffnen eine Bäckerei mit Wirtschaft in Lenzburg.

    Die Gründer Arnold und Anna Brändli-Ehrismann